Five Minute Friday: safe

albrecht_durer_-_two_seated_lions_-_google_art_project

Albrecht Durer, Two seated lions, 1520. Public domain image from Google Art Project

“Then he isn’t safe?” said Lucy.

“Safe?” said Mr. Beaver. “Don’t you hear what Mrs. Beaver tells you? Who said anything about safe? ‘Course he isn’t safe. But he’s good. He’s the King, I tell you.”*

I tremble with Lucy, wanting Him to be safe. But He couldn’t be, could He? Not safe and good, if He is The King. To be King and be good means that He must be woefully dangerous. Subjects are safe with a king only insofar as He is able to defeat their enemies. The King who defeated the last enemy of them all, fell Death itself: that King must be fearsome indeed.

‘Course he isn’t safe.

There’s a higher sort of goodness than the harmlessness which “wouldn’t hurt a fly.” This goodness sent the Only Begotten to agonize on the cross, because He who would defeat death would also see to it that justice was served. The best goodness rushes in roaring sometimes, claws and teeth bared, because for goodness to be good, the bad guys must be punished.

So, safe? Of course He isn’t. But, poet Ben Palpant gets it right:

What or whom should I fear?
You have proven that you save
your chosen ones.
Indeed, you answer 
out of holy heaven
with right arm flexed,
fists furious,
feet flying.

Some say, “The Lord helps those who help themselves.”
Others say, “I can help myself.”
I say, “God help me or I die.”**

 

*C. S. Lewis, The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe, ©1950
**
Ben Palpant, “So Here I Stand,” Sojourner Songs, ©2016

safe

Linking up with Kate Motaung to write on her prompt, safe. Turns out she thought of the same Lewis quote I used, but — disclaimer — I wrote my post before I read hers. Either way, the “Safe” button above will carry you to her site.

©2017 by Stacy Crouch

5 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: safe

  1. So glad to be joining you from Five Minute Friday. I love the quote from that timeless book (and movie), because it truly captures the essence of the balance between God being “all-loving” and “all-powerful/just”. Thank-you for sharing from the heart.

  2. Also visiting from Five Minute Friday. This is beautiful, and that scene between Lucy and Mr. Badger is one of my favorites. It’s not always safe to put our trust in God, but He is always, always good.

  3. Beautiful weaving of the passage of “Narnia” into the poem. I too used the Narnia passage as it is one of my favorite quotes. So truth telling about God’s character. The poem takes it to the next level-reflection. I am your neighbor at Five Minute Friday Link up #40.

Leave a Reply

