Five Minute Friday: limit

ruin

For my recent birthday, my husband took me on a weekend out-of-town. The point wasn’t really to do or see big things; it was just to be together, and somewhere where we usually aren’t. Mission accomplished, and it was great.

We laughed, though, we when realized what our weekend activities actually were. Among other things, we spent a good long time walking around an old cemetery — with graves dating back to the 1830s — and we visited the ruins of a long-burned mansion. How did we celebrate aging? By taking a long look at our certain mortality.

It wasn’t gloomy, though it may sound so. But there was also a certain sobering element to it: visit on your birthday or not, a cemetery reminds us that EVERYONE dies. We speculated on the stories: a family taken out by scarlet fever, maybe? A teenage daughter who suffered consumption? We’re not likely to have the sort of lengthy epithets in vogue in the 1890s, but one day, we’ll be finished with mortality. We live under sentence of death: a time-limit.

Mary Oliver inquires,
“Tell me, what is it you plan to do
with your one wild and precious life?”

And what are you doing with it? Storing up treasures in mansions that will burn to the ground? Or investing in forever?

LIMIT

Today I link up with Kate Motaung to write on her theme: limit. The “limit” button above leads to her site.

©2016 by Stacy Crouch

 

 

4 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: limit

  1. Visiting from FMF. I liked your take on the word limit- remembering our mortality certainly gets things into perspective. And I love that question: “What is it you plan to do with your one wild and precious life?”

  2. Stopping by from FMF. I can totally relate to your trip…my hubby and I love to visit Charleston, SC, and when we do we love visiting the historic cemeteries and old plantations. Well, at least I love it…he tolerates it for me. 😉

    Lynette
    ~#76 at FMF

Leave a Reply

