Five Minute Friday: trust (small and glad, day 9)

heart string 2
When I think about marriage in human terms, it seems insane: why would I ever trust myself to make such immense promises, knowing my weaknesses as I do? How could I rationally trust anyone else with such promises? Why would we enter into a forever-covenant, knowing that we’ll both fall short?

But I don’t have to think about it in human terms. God made marriage. He does the joining together. And because my fiancé and I trust Him, we can make these vows confidently. Not from a place of personal strength, but from a place of weakness, knowing that when we are weak, our Savior is strong.

So that ultimately, my confidence entering into marriage is not in my fiancé. (Though I definitely consider him trustworthy!) My confidence is in the Lord who created the universe and upholds all things by the word of His power.

He who keeps the galaxies suspended in space can be trusted to keep our marriage. I trust Him.

trust.1-600x600

Participating in Five Minute Friday with Kate Motaung today, using her prompt, trust. The “trust” button above will take you to her site.

©2015 by Stacy Nott

4 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: trust (small and glad, day 9)

Leave a Reply

