May: learnings 2015

Today I’m linking up with Emily P. Freeman to share things I learned in May.

What-We-Learned-in-May-2015

1. While South Carolina is known as the Palmetto State and Georgia the Peach State, SC actually grows more peaches and Georgia has more palmettos.

2. The Anhinga — better known, maybe, as a snake bird — does not have any grease on its feathers. The lack of grease means it sinks and swims under water, rather than floating on top like a duck. It also means that it has to spend a lot of time with its wings spread out, drying its feathers. anhinga 3. In spite of great initial skepticism, I’m actually kind of a fan of the soft pants trend. (I tried to find the official name, and there doesn’t seem to be one.) The ones I have are made of a flowing rayon fabric in a subtle print, more comfortable than pjs, way cooler than jeans, and easy to dress up or down.

Another perk: they prompted an artist at an art festival I was browsing to strike up a conversation with me, and she wasn’t at all surprised to learn that I’m actually a college instructor, which means they must help me look my age: they are winners.

This is the only picture I have of me wearing the soft pants. I'm the one on the right with my hair blowing in the wind. The soft pants also blew in the wind.

This is the only picture I have of me wearing the soft pants. I’m the one on the right with my hair blowing in the wind. The soft pants also blew in the wind.

4. My church has a pretty good collection of older missionary biographies, and I decided to check one out. (FPCYC people: the uninspiring covers don’t mean the contents are boring!) So now I’m reading God’s Smuggler by Brother Andrew and finding it tremendously encouraging and challenging.

5. I learned what a peacock looks like from behind when its tail is spread. We’re always seeing the front few, but the back view is also pretty amazing. So here’s a [not very good] picture of that: Peacock 6. I learned a lot about cicadas, including, but not limited to the facts that squirrels and chipmunks eat them, that some varieties live 13+ years, mostly underground, and that nearly all of ours have finished their lifecycle and now, in early June, are dead.

7. Finishing a semester of teaching doesn’t always make me feel sad. Case in point: I was glad to see the end of this spring semester.

8. There might be a rattlesnake under the tiller. rattler 9. I’m willing to drink coffee sometimes and even kind of enjoy it. But I still prefer hot tea.

10. House concerts are maybe more fun than I expected. At least, the one I attended was.

11. May showers. They came hard on the heels of our April flowers. They were wet and thundery and brought May mud and lots of lawn growth.

12. I like May. toes – Version 2 ©2015 by Stacy Nott

4 thoughts on “May: learnings 2015

  1. I am a new fan of the soft pants also, a tea drinker and lover of missionaries. That snake – well, makes me not feel so bad about the wasp experience I wrote about! Visiting from the link-up today.

  2. Mary Pat McCall says:

    Never heard them called snake birds, Myron always called them just water turkeys:). Learn something new every day. Love ya.

Leave a Reply

