Five Minute Friday: send

send

“Send out your light and your truth;” the Psalmist prays,
“let them lead me;
let them bring me to your holy hill
and to your dwelling!
Then I will go to the altar of God,
to God my exceeding joy,
and I will praise you with the lyre,
O God, my God.”
Psalm 43:3

After a week of cold gray mornings, we have a cold bright morning. My car windshield was coated in literal frost over which I had to pour warm water before I could see to go anywhere.

The horizon of the road headed east was rosy with anticipation, and suddenly, above the trees, there was the sun in all the orange intensity of seven o’clock.

My heart sang, and birds flew eagerly eastward over the road, and the fields wore soft winter-white frost, and the trees were silver against the pink and blue sky.

And in the God whose glory the heavens declare I had exceeding joy.

Christ himself is light and truth. His word is light and truth. But also, sometimes, He sends out his literal earthly light to lead me to worship Him.

Singing hymns all down the highway, I thanked Him for this grace.

Send-2-600x600

Today I join Kate Motaung to write on her Five Minute Friday prompt “send.” The “Send” button above will send you to her blog where you can join in the fun and read what others have written.

©2015 by Stacy Nott

3 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: send

  1. Hi Stacy! Hopped on here from your comment on my blog. We don’t have winter from where I am but your words made me feel and imagine the beauty of what you have seen. God is really amazing even in the littlest of things that we see around us.

    Have a happy weekend! 🙂

  2. My heart whispered “Amen,” as I read Psalm 43:3. I am also thankful that our Father does use His earthly light and other parts of creation to lead us into worship. Blessings to you.

Leave a Reply

