Five Minute Friday: Turn

I find I become more and more mobile in front of a class. Where once I relied on the podium, my anchor and symbol of my job, now I walk circles around the two desks that fill the front of the room, pacing back and forth, pausing to perch on the front of one to make a point.

Other things turn in other ways.

Other things turn in other ways.

I don’t like to turn my back to the students, though. Writing things on the board feels weird because it involves this turning. Oh, I still write, sometimes, but there’s also the discomfort of knowing that the things I write on the board are the only things that will certainly be copied into the notebooks, however inconsequential those whiteboard scrawls may be.

Yesterday I drew on the board, illustrating something Joseph Conrad points out in Heart of Darkness: he remarks how unexplored places on the map are blank and white, but, with exploration, they turn darker and darker as rivers and mountains and villages and roads are drawn and named.

He intends to draw the parallel to the human heart: the further we explore, the more darkness we can add to our understanding of it. And, indeed, it takes very little exploration to find the dark places of our hearts.

Thanks be to God who, through Christ, turns stone hearts to flesh, turns sick hearts well, turns sinners to saints.

Five-Minute-Friday-4-300x300

Today I used Kate Motaung’s Five Minute Friday prompt, turn. Click the button above to visit her site and read more about it.

©2014 by Stacy Nott

2 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Turn

  1. Sandra Libby says:

    WOW! What a great post. I may not look at a map the same! And I appreciate not liking to turn your back to the students being a teacher myself. Thank you for sharing this from Joseph Conrad.

Leave a Reply

