Noticing, Day 25: alone

Today I noticed the “thud” of my right foot answered by the “thud” of my left foot again and again as I marched down the dirt path in the woods carrying my backpack, a stick to ward off spider’s webs, and a travel mug of tea.

If you have to miss a wedding in order to read and plan and such, it looks like less of a hardship when you get to do it at a table in an open pavilion in the woods beside your house.

not too shabby, eh?

not too shabby, eh?

While there, I was much noticed by this little guy, who persisted in flying into my back and buzzing against the screens and generally letting me know that he kept on being there:

bug

which, when I realized he wasn’t a horsefly, was fine.

I noticed the “crunch” of my right foot answered by the “crunch” of my left foot again and again as I marched up the gravel driveway carrying my backpack and my stick and a handful of mail from the mailbox.

And I noticed how sunshine and solitude can smooth a weary soul, so that you feel less weary at the end of the day than at the beginning.

For these things, I am grateful.

noticing

©2014 by Stacy Nott

Leave a Reply

