Noticing, Day 13: even the wind and the sea

It’s the kind of afternoon when I cancel my plans to go to town because of a huge line of storms sweeping across from the west.
southmissvlyAll day long I’ve been noticing weather-things: the gusty wind this morning under the sunny sky. The way leaves flew angrily across the yard. The gradual darkening right about the time I was to have been on the road, the sound of intermittent rain on the roof, the little black dog’s worried eyes.

With plans cancelled, it ought to be the perfect afternoon for sitting inside and reading “The Rime of the Ancient Mariner,” which is what I’m supposed to be doing. But I find that harder than it ought to be — I’m too busy noticing the shine of water dripping from the eaves, the periodic squeals of the automated weather warnings on the public radio station, the rumblings near and far, and my disappointment about not getting to go places and see people.

When I’m disappointed in the weather, there’s only one Person whom I can blame, and I find myself smack against Job 40:2, Will the faultfinder contend with the Almighty? Let him who reproves God answer it.

And I then find myself questioning, with the disciples in a boat in the midst of a newly-calmed Sea of Galilee: “Who then is this, that even the wind and the sea obey Him?”

His care, this is a thing worth notice.

noticing

©2014 by Stacy Nott

One thought on “Noticing, Day 13: even the wind and the sea

Leave a Reply

