Five Minute Friday: Hold

I’ve made several false starts today, trying to write on the Five Minute Friday prompt. Each ended with a few sentences on the page and me staring off into space. But while I fail to write, I am held, oh, so tenderly.

P1040816

And so tonight I’m sharing this, a journal entry from an odd five minutes a week ago, about the One who holds me:

God never grows weary of being God.He never has to try to be enough, never has to work hard to notice each need, answer each question. He overlooks no one, forgets nothing, never fails.

He speaks no careless words, asks no thoughtless questions, makes no false steps.

His shoulders never ache under the weight of our neediness. His arms never strain with carrying us. His feet are never tired from going before us and following behind us and walking beside us.

He never runs out of love, never runs short of patience, never grows deaf or bleary-eyed.

He has no fear concealed behind His confidence. He has no uncertainty concealed behind His assurances. He has no doubt concealed behind His promises, no dislike behind His kindness.

I rest, because He never requires rest, and keep on loving only because He keeps on loving me.

And there’s a hymn I dearly love, which says in part:
He holds me that I shall not fall,
And so to Him I leave it all.

Five-Minute-Friday-4-300x300

Linking up with Kate Motaung and her Five Minute Friday gang again today. The button above will take you to her page.

©2014 by Stacy Nott

6 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Hold

Leave a Reply

