Five Minute Friday: Tell

How should I tell it? The early morning walk over dew-wet grass to the pond where I faced a multitude of small fish and broke two slices bread for them while a heron gave one startled squawk from the tree above my head.

P1040266 - Version 2

It was like someone had scrambled the pieces of a different story. I went soul-hungry to the water, and while I broke stale bread into fish-sized portions and the sun stirred wisps of mist off the water, He fed me.

He reminded me, as the fish looked up at me, that the eyes of all look to Him, and He gives them their food in due time. He opens His hand and satisfies the desire of every living thing.

He reminded me, while bullfrogs began a low chorus, that even as He feeds the birds and clothes the flowers, He knows all the things that I need.

Along the path where I wielded a stick against  the entanglements of spiders’ webs, I walked in His command: “Do not be anxious.”

I am small, and I am weak, but He is neither. And He tells me I am His.

Five-Minute-Friday-4-300x300

Joining Kate Motaung and the Five Minute Friday crew to write on today’s prompt: tell. Use the button above to join in or read more.

©2014 by Stacy Nott

 

Leave a Reply

