Five Minute Friday: Finish

Sometimes the Five Minute Friday prompt bears a serendipitous relationship to my own particular Friday. (Other times, it is so incongruous as to be utterly unwritable–though I suppose, if I wanted, I could make a writing on the incongruity, too.)

air plant

But today: finish. And at 10:30 a.m. I am finished with a month of course work–12 credit hours–which should earn me a TESOL certification for I’m-not-sure-what-yet. It has filled my July, which month in the past has stretched languorously out, taunting me with long, hot, purposeless days. This month, I was not purposeless.

I can’t see what it’s changed for me, yet; don’t know how the ability to define morphemes and talk about listening strategies applies to my life, in which, after all, I’ll still be teaching the same subjects I’ve been teaching.

But this I know: I serve a God in whose providence nothing is wasted; nothing is lost. And though I cannot see the shape He has designed for me, I am certain that He sees it, and that it grows clearer with each passing day.

Our goal is forward, onward; we cannot cling to the things we leave behind. Yet we can look back, and see the things that baffled us emerging into clarity.

Be encouraged: these mysteries, this now, shall also be one day clear.

Thanks, Lisa-Jo!

Joining Lisa-Jo and friends to write on the Five Minute Friday prompt: finish. Use the button above to read more and join in the fun.

©2014 by Stacy Nott

 

6 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Finish

  1. I just finished a certificate program in May and it still doesn’t really seem real. I’m like oh I’m done I have to look for a job now? This is no longer fun! HA! Congrats though on finishing it’s a big accomplishment!

    • Thanks! I’m grateful to have a job right now. It isn’t in TESOL, but I’m hoping the certification will open other doors down the road. 🙂 Congrats on finishing, as well; I hope your job search is successful!

  2. “Our goal is forward, onward; we cannot cling to the things we leave behind. Yet we can look back, and see the things that baffled us emerging into clarity.” mm, needed these. Thank you for sharing. –an FMF neighbor.

  3. Encouraging words, Stacy. Thank you! One of these Fridays I may jump into this 5 Minute Friday thing. I’m feeling rather lonely in this new blogging world. Need to plug in somewhere!

    • I enjoy 5 Minute Fridays: they’re an encouraging place to get some blogging community, and always nice for Fridays when I don’t know what to write. 🙂 I say, definitely give it a try! There is no rule that says you have to come back every week.

Leave a Reply

