Five Minute Friday: Release

Release.

My last morning at Ravi Zacharias International Ministries’ Summer Institute, where we’ve been circling around the topic of “Freedom” through various permutations all week.

P1020905

The prophet Isaiah publishes salvation in my morning reading, chapter 52:

“Shake yourself from the dust and arise;
be seated, O Jerusalem;
loose the bonds from your neck,
O captive daughter of Zion.
. . .
Break forth together into singing,
you waste places of Jerusalem,
for the LORD has comforted his people;
he has redeemed Jerusalem.”

He frees from prison. He frees from slavery. He frees eyes from blindness and ears from deafness. He frees tongues from speechlessness and feet from paralysis. He frees the dying and the dead from death itself.

Here I’ve been surrounded by freed ones. All of us partially released, all of us waiting for the Final and Forever, living in the Not Yet of the Already Accomplished. We’re a diverse bunch, but we share in this Most Important thing.

He sees us clearly: all our warts and weaknesses and wrongdoing, our foolish fears and our deliberate disobeying. He knows us. And knowing worse of us than we even know of ourselves, He loves us, even to the point of death on a cross.

Constrained by His love, dead in His death and made alive through His life: we stand free, being formed more and more into the Likeness which we were made to bear.

We share His call: to proclaim liberty to captives, the opening of prisons, the disintegration of chains. Release.

Thanks, Lisa-Jo!

Joining Lisa-Jo Baker and her Friday flash-mob of writers on today’s prompt: release. The button above will take you to her site, where you can read more about it and join in yourself.

©2014 by Stacy Nott

8 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Release

  1. Very well said, Stacy! I just read some of the passages about ways that He frees us, and it’s a beautiful thing. I still shake my head in amazement that He loves me in spite of all my flaws.

  2. I am so glad you are being blessed by the Ravi seminar, Stacy!
    Amen, – I especially love the passage in Isaiah, about Christ coming to set the captives free. I was blind but now I see!”

    By the by, last Thursday, my blog, Fullness of Joy had its 3rd birthday :). To celebrate the event, I am hosting a blog-party of “special magnificence” throughout the week, and as a cherry-top icing a fun giveaway for three winners to end it all. It will be a week long tag series, with every day or so I’ll be making different literary-themed topic tags, about different genres such as the classics, fantasy, mystery, children’s, etc . . which everyone can join in with. And I am dearly hoping you would – it would thrill me very much and also it should prove some fun, I think 🙂

    Today’s topic is “Historical Classics” 🙂

    http://joy-live4jesus.blogspot.com.au/2014/06/through-looking-glass-blog-birthday.html?m=1

    I hope you can join!

    • What fun for your blog-birthday! I don’t think I’ll be able to join these first few days, but maybe — depending on the shape of the next week — I’ll manage to jump in and help you celebrate!

Leave a Reply

