Five Minute Friday: Tree

I remember memorizing Psalm 1 in kindergarten or first grade, standing in our green-carpeted, pine-paneled school room beside my little turquoise-topped desk, a bulletin board covered in butterflies beside me:

“He will be like a tree firmly planted by streams of water, which bears its fruit in its season, and its leaf does not wither, and whatever he does, he prospers.”

I don’t know what they explained to me then, what I picked up by osmosis, but there have been the words ever since in my mind, sending down deep roots, reaching up leafy branches. And I love trees.

They toss their golden leaves against blue skies this afternoon, and they whisper of so many tree-stories: a different connotation for each leaf that drifts down.

The forbidden tree of Eden, with its fruit alluring the first Adam into sin. The Accursed Tree of Golgotha, the fruit of which — Christ’s death — makes payment for that sin. The Tree of Life at the new Jerusalem, healing nations with its leaves.

And the blessed ones, like trees, rooted in heaven, visible on earth, drinking water of life from the spring which does not run dry, no matter where on earth they move. The Lord knows their ways, ensures their fruit, prunes them into prosperity.

Thanks, Lisa-Jo!

Joining Lisa-Jo and her Friday blog party, writing on today’s prompt: Tree. Use the button above to see what it’s all about!

©2013 by Stacy Nott

4 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Tree

  1. This is so lovely. Your words, “And the blessed ones, like trees, rooted in heaven, visible on earth, drinking water of life from the spring which does not run dry, no matter where on earth they move. The Lord knows their ways, ensures their fruit, prunes them into prosperity.” capture the essence of who we are in Him. Bless you!

  2. A great post! You are blessed to have been introduced to Jesus at a young age and to memorize Scripture as a child. I don’t think I owned a Bible until I was about 24 years old and it took another 11 years for me to accept each word of it as true! I thought about a lot of the same things as I was writing my post. Keep writing! Love in Christ, Cindy

  3. Nice post. I love that you refer to trees of the Bible and their significance. You were obviously have learned much more of His Word since those early days. I wrote my FMF about the first tree you mentioned. Thanks for a thoughtful contribution to FMF.

Leave a Reply

