Five Minute Friday: Worship

The word is “worship,” and a friend wished me Spirit-filled days, citing Ephesians 5:18-19 with singing and heart-praising God as evidence. And what does that look like?

To start the day saying “I am Yours; save me”? To listen to the songs that make you sing?

What does it look like when you’re building blisters on heels and baby toes in the unfamiliar teaching shoes with the unfamiliar students smiling and shy in their seats? Is it worship when I tell them why words are important to me, read them the first several verses of the gospel of John, show them words and the Word and tell them how this is vital, this is important, this is what makes me tick.

Hopkins says “Christ plays in ten-thousand places, /  Lovely in limbs, and lovely in eyes not his,” and I see Him in some of the eyes, and He is lovely, and when I see Him lovely: isn’t that worship?

I’m reading a book on delighting in God, on finding Him to be sweeter than all sweets, lovelier than all loveliness, better than best. And I don’t know how, can’t always, don’t perfectly.

But His is never-failing steadfast love; His are every-morning-new mercies; in His presence is fullness of joy.

And I’m going there.

Thanks, Lisa-Jo!

Joining Lisa-Jo Baker and her flash-mob of free writers for Five Minute Friday today. Join with us by clicking the button above.

 

©2013 by Stacy Nott

 

Leave a Reply

