when you’ve run out of words

Jesus, cast a look on me; give me sweet simplicity;
Make me poor and keep me low, seeking only Thee to know.

Oh Lord, my heart is not lifted up;
my eyes are not raised too high;
I do not occupy myself with things
too great and too marvelous for me.

All that feeds my busy pride, cast it evermore aside;
Bid my will to Thine submit; lay me humbly at thy feet.

Make me like a little child, of my strength and wisdom spoiled,
Seeing only in Thy light, walking only in Thy might.

But I have calmed and quieted  my soul,
like a weaned child with its mother;
like a weaned child with its mother is my soul within me.

Leaning on Thy loving breast, where a weary soul can rest,
Feeling well the peace of God, flowing from His precious blood.

O Israel, hope in the Lord
from this time forth and forevermore.
–Psalm 131, ESV

In this posture let me live, and hosannas daily give;
In this temper let me die, and hosannas ever cry.
–John Berridge, 1716-1793

3 thoughts on “when you’ve run out of words

  1. I adore the oil painting by Mary Casset. The original painting is at the Norton’s Museum in Shreveport, La. I live right next to it so I often stare at it….

Leave a Reply

