odds and endings

A peaceful, rainy day, with grade-tallying tasks which satisfy in showing results without my having to expend much in the way of critical or creative thinking.  I’ve been collecting bits of things the past week or so and failing to make anything coherent of them.  Here they are, though, coherent or not:

A vision of a pink pig trotting freely along a roadside ditch. I became inordinately excited, then realized that it was merely a wet, wooly dog.  I was inordinately disappointed.

Students streaming out of an honors convocation on a sunlit morning, in dresses and high heels and sport coats and ties, smiling and looking appropriately academic and honored.

Sitting between two younger girls and smiling because they make the bench shake with their suppressed giggling.

Sunset striking the top of a stained-glass window depicting Christ’s baptism, so that the descending dove seemed to come down out of God’s very glory — light rather than a voice declaring the beloved-ness of the Son with whom God is well-pleased. (I’m not much on images of God, but the light this time: wow.)

Two brothers of similar size and coloring standing in church: blue shirts, khaki pants, brown belts, red hymnals in right hands, left hands in pockets.

Wind making camphor trees drop their litter of berries onto a coffee-shop-porch table, snatching away my grading sheet, blowing ash into my face from the tray I’d moved out of my way.

A little golden-haired girl in a pink skirt and pink clog shoes, following me upstairs in an empty church building, watching me hang up my choir robe, asking about collar on the robe.

A butterfly landing on my finger, delicately tasting the salt there, flying away when I twitched.

The easier sections of Haydn sonatas, sight-read and replayed: light, classical notes, little pedal, energy.  I always seem to revisit Haydn in the spring.

The realization that Colossians 3:15-17 repeats the injunction to thankfulness once per verse: “Be thankful. . . . with thankfulness in your hearts to God. . . . giving thanks through [Christ] to God the Father.”

Leave a Reply

