Sometimes, no matter how many times you go around the pond, there is no inspiration to be caught.  No matter how carefully you read and listen, you meet nothing that looks or sounds like an epiphany.  Sometimes, even though you’re more contented than not with where you are, you want to know why you’re there and not somewhere else, and what exactly you’re supposed to be doing there, and if you’re missing it.

Then they said to him, “What must we do, to be doing the works of God?” Jesus answered them, “This is the work of God, that you believe in him whom he has sent.” (John 6:28, 29)

It’s hard to think of believing as something to do, as work.  When I work, I want something to show for it: pages typed, floors cleaned, loaves baked, or a line of music mastered.  I can’t bring anyone into the house and show them the mound of believing accomplished: “I was hard at work believing all day, and see my progress!”

But do I know?  Have I ever spent a whole day hard at work believing?

Jesus said to them, “I am the bread of life; whoever comes to me shall not hunger, and whoever believes in me shall never thirst.” (John 6:35)

If I spent whole days hard at work believing when my natural tendencies would rather chase unsatisfactory food stuffs all across my soul, would I come to the ends of those days feeling less thirsty?  And if that happened consistently, wouldn’t it be obvious?

Sometimes there are no inspirations or epiphanies, because the thing is already plain.  The task laid out, and along with it — invisible, usually — the grace with which to reach its end.

I believe; help my unbelief.

One thought on “

Leave a Reply

