“Variability is one of the virtues of a woman.  It avoids the crude requirement of polygamy.  So long as you have one good wife you are sure to have a spiritual harem.”
-G. K. Chesterton, “The Glory of Grey”

Despite my plentiful supply of this feminine virtue, I have been steadfastly in favor of Gilbert Keith for upwards of a year now, and I see no reason for there ever being a cessation of our amiability.  The above quoted essay, which I found accidentally last night, is delightful, though it deals with little besides the weather.  I doubt I would have imagined any grey glory, but Chesterton thoroughly convinces me:

“Grey is a colour that always seems on the eve of changing to some other colour; of brightening into blue or blanching into white or bursting into green and gold.  So we may be perpetually reminded of the indefinite hope that is in doubt itself; and when there is grey weather on our hills or grey hairs on our heads, perhaps they may still remind us of the morning.”

Indeed, yes.

4 thoughts on “

  1. Ok, so to make a current cultural parallel, this quote reminds me of Sting’s All Four Seasons. Sorry to diminish any higher thoughts, but I actually really like that song. Thanks for sharing this quote, it cracks me up!

  2. eastman says:

    I knew there was a reason grey was my favorite color. Stuck on a desert island, I would take Chesterton, Lewis, Richard Adams, and P.G. Wodehouse…just saying.

Leave a Reply

