*My tiny clay pot has a Christmas tree growing in it.  Who knew that a stately Christmas tree begins slender and smooth as a blade of a grass?  That that slender blade bursts into a cluster of needles at its top, new-green and wild?   But how should I, quite skeptical of any produce from the planting, avoid being surprised at what grows?  Surprised and glad.

*There is a degree of coldness which makes me feel as though I have ice instead of bones in my hands.  This, though certainly a quickening sensation, is not my favorite thing, especially when I am driving and have forgotten my gloves.

*”Where are my ribs?”  This, from a brown-eyed first-grader, who had proudly announced, a few minutes before, that she knew how to tell time.  I suppose, even in the beginning, there was time before there were ribs, but I never thought it until today.

*I yesterday saw a frozen fountain.  In some parts of the world this is, no doubt, routine, but I am not in the habit of seeing sheets of ice hanging where water generally falls: it was exciting.

*George Eliot, via her novel Romola, has been a pleasant companion lately.  I like her way of saying things.  This, for instance:  For the human soul is hospitable, and will entertain contradictory opinions with much impartiality. Just now I exemplify the statement, entertaining at once the contradictory desires of sleeping and writing.  My impartiality results in compromise: I have written; now I will sleep.

4 thoughts on “

  1. betweenbluerocks says:

    Except it’s cold in Mississippi right now, and it isn’t vacation any longer. But I guess it isn’t as cold as Colorado …

  2. pursuingthreshold says:

    it actually felt a bit less cold in CO for some reason…? I believe that this cold stent has showed me how much I would love to live in a freezing climate, for at least the winter part of the year.

    And thanks, I am now better. It didn’t last too long, thank goodness.

    I too went to see a frozen fountain, at belhaven, as many times as I had chance. It looked its best this morning. A sheet of ice from the bottom pool reaching all the way into the water.

Leave a Reply

