“. . . and the breezes that came in were mild, earthy, grassy, with a feel of sunlight about them.”  -Marilynne Robinson, Home

And I was glad, very glad, to read such a sentence; glad to have someone tell me that breezes can have “a feel of sunlight about them,” because it was a thing I’d suspected and not been able to articulate.   But I have been made glad also by leathery-black water-bugs skimming on top of the shallows, by a Very Large Turtle poised in the sunlight above his perfect reflection, by a note in the warm green mailbox, by a walk in the moisty-cool morning, by a few moments at the piano with Bach’s Well-Tempered Clavier, and by other things besides. 

Oh, fear the LORD, you his saints,
for those who fear him have no lack!

-Psalm 34:9

3 thoughts on “

  1. pursuingthreshold says:

    I have started and am about half way through Gilead. It is very calm. I believe that I like her a good deal so far.

    your home is pleasant to hear

  2. Love Marilynne Robinson. Have only read Gilead and Housekeeping… looking forward to hopefully reading Home soon.
    You are quite observant… i fear I might have slipped right past that lovely phrase without settling and soaking it up.

  3. To beat a deep scar in the marimba, the passage reminds me of Giants in the Earth, both the image and the language.
    It also reminds me of the smell we get in Florida after being outdoors. I didn’t always like it so much . . .
    I’m convinced Marilynne Robinson is a genius (if anyone doubts that, they should read The Death of Adam). I wish I had the time and ability to read all the books this summer. It could be years before I can read Home.

Leave a Reply

