I always have to stop when I see the name William Cowper.  Firstly, because Cowper, despite its resemblance to a common appellation of bovine beasts, is actually pronounced Cooper.  Secondly, because, in an old BBC television version of Sense and Sensibility, Mary Ann insists that Edward read Cowper’s poetry aloud.  And, lastly and most importantly, because, besides writing a quantity of romantic poetry, Cowper also wrote a quantity of wonderful hymns.  One of which I have put below:

God of my life, to Thee I call,
Afflicted at Thy feet I fall;
When the great water floods prevail
Leave not my trembling heart to fail.

Friend of the friendless and the saint,
Where should I lodge my deep complaint?
Where but with Thee, whose open door
Invites the helpless and poor!

That were a grief I could not bear,
Didst Thou not hear and answer prayer;
But a prayer hearing, answering God,
Supports me under every load.

Poor though I am, despised, forgot,
Yet God, my God, forgets me not;
And He is safe and must succeed for whom
The Lord is sure to plead.

One thought on “

  1. Derrick says:

    If you have not ever read the Sidney Psalter, I have a copy you may borrow, if you mention it to me. It would gladly be shared.

Leave a Reply

