What is your only comfort … ?

“What is your only comfort in life and in death?

“That I am not my own, but belong body and soul, in life and in death, to my faithful Savior Jesus Christ.”
~The Heidelberg Catechism, Question 1

Strange irony, that often the times I feel most in need of comfort are the times that I have run headlong into the fact that I am not my own.  That most of the wounds I receive come of wanting to be my own.  And that for those wounds, the only comfort is that I belong to Another. 

But such Another.  The God who has afflicted me with his Ownership is amply able to comfort me in my affliction.  If I belong to Him, so also do my troubles.   And so I  run to Him, throw my troubles angrily at His feet, stamp my impotent foot, and shout “Deal with them; they don’t belong to me anyway!”  And in my temper tantrum, He has me exactly where I ought to have been all along, giving up. 

I am comforted.

One thought on “What is your only comfort … ?

  1. Mom says:

    And then, I hope, you ask forgiveness for the tantrum! You do when I am the object – how much more you owe Him. I love you, Daughter, Daughter; I wish I could comfort all your sorrows, but am glad you know Who can.

Leave a Reply

