belonging

      “It was lonely for a day or so until one morning some man, more recently arrived than I, stopped me on the road.
      ” ‘How do you get to West Egg village?’ he asked helplessly.
      “I told him.  And as I walked on I was lonely no longer.  I was a guide, a pathfinder, an original settler. He had casually conferred on me the freedom of the neighborhood.”
~F. Scott Fitzgerald, The Great Gatsby

I find myself in a somewhat analogous situation as a college senior.  This is why I love to be asked the way to various campus locations or library shelves.  This is why I love to teach what I have learned.  It does give me a sense of ownership and belonging to a place, to a classification.  “This is where I live; this is who I am; this is my proof.” 

Is this, perhaps, part of why sharing the gospel is so emphasized as a part of being in Christ – to help us take ownership of what has been given to us?  To help us be more than intellectually aware that we belong to Him?

Just some thoughts.

Leave a Reply

